Opening the Eyes of My Heart

This past Sunday the Holy Spirit revealed several new, amazing truths to me about God (ok so they’re not new to God- He has always been this way – I had never seen them before).
1. God the Father loves me as much as He loves Christ. I guess I have always had the idea that I ( and all children of the Father) came after Christ as far as love from the Father and that was fine with me – it made sense that the Father would love Christ the most. In church on Sunday, pastor pointed out that in John 17:23,26 Christ prayers and asks the Father to love believers with the same love with which He has loved Christ. What an amazing and humbling truth!!
2. Jesus invites us to share in the same Father/child relationship that He has with the Father. When the disciples ask Jesus to teach them to pray, Jesus tells them to start with “Our Father”. The God if the universe who holds it all together perfectly and commands the angel armies invites me to call him Daddy…whoa!!
3. I will never have to face the wrath of God. When Christ died on the cross, we know he faced the wrath of the Father (Mark 15:34). Because of this, the wrath of God has been satisfied as far as I am concerned; all I receive is His love. Now sometimes His love comes in the form of discipline, but it is still love and not wrath.
Praise The Lord that He opens the eyes of my heart to see glimpses of how wonderful and amazing He is!!

Leave a comment